naked.

Genesis 3:11-13

11 He said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten of the tree of which I commanded you not to eat?” 12 The man said, “The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.” 13 Then the Lord God said to the woman, “What is this that you have done?” The woman said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.”

Do you know what Adam and Eve were doing right before this question is asked? They were hiding themselves from their creator. In their perfect garden. Why? Because they did the one thing they were commanded not to do. And they became transparent to one another and were horrified/embarrassed at who they truly were. Naked. Transparent. Fear and pride causing all things to go awry. Thus begins the plight of the world. Sin.

Sin, the great alienator. Spiritual alienation. We are separated from God. Psychological alienation. We can no longer know our true selves. Social alienation. We can no longer love our neighbors. Gender, race, nations, classes. All opposed to one another. Nature alienation. We are no longer living peacefully in our world.

Recently, I was very overwhelmed at the depth and breadth of destruction sin has caused and continues to cause. But it isn’t just the Big Things. The obvious ones. It’s my inability to love my kids well. To communicate with my husband. To  care for my friends and neighbors. All because I am muddled by sin. As a counselor of mine once said, “even our best efforts require repentance.” I was frustrated by the seemingly good aspirations that just could not be realized.

But then I listened to a sermon by Tim Keller (which, if you listen to it, you will see this entire post comes from my notes on it!). It is entitled The Promise of Hope and is on Genesis 3:11-24. Go ahead and find it. It is through listening to what he said that I realized where I was stuck. I was broken down in the Results of Sin. I was pretending a Remedy hadn’t arrived. That Remedy, Jesus Christ, is our Redeemer, our Saviour. He rescues us, me, from this broken down, decrepit place, deteriorating relationships, depressed mind, and begins our healing. Now, I know full well that total healing of all of these things will not be complete until we are standing in His presence upon his return, but he is breathing life into the hurt places even now. He is on the move. If you find yourself distraught over the ugliness of this life, don’t look away. Don’t look inward. Look to the only who who overcame fear by dying  for you, whom he loves so deeply.

7 thoughts on “naked.

  1. I really want to start just breathing in Christ. Living Christ, resting in Christ. Yet, that blasted sin nature seems to constantly rear it’s ugly head. There are days when I want to pray, but it doesn’t seem to come coherently. In those times, I imagine just sitting at His feet, physically leaning against the Creator of the Universe in absolute rest, and it’s enough.

    • More than enough! It gets me very frustrated and I can become paralyzed in fear. But He overcame those nasty roots of sin, fear and pride. And one day we will be totally set free! Until then, Grace, grace, grace….prayer before, during, after! xox glad to walk this with you!

  2. I posted this on our Church’s social media site. Here are some of the responses:
    “Naked written by Melissa Palladino .” Sandi said:
    Enjoyed the read today. I seem to be reminded of this fallen world
    everyday. Your friend’s post helped me greatly. ”

    And ..”Thank you, Lynne for writing this. You are, by the way, a beautiful writer. I am going to listen to this sermon by Tim Keller (when I get a chance). And I will read over Genesis 3:11-24. Not sure how to respond just yet…but I can tell you it blessed me to read this right now. I needed this right now. So I am thankful the Lord put this on your heart to share. So….thank you for sharing. :)” I corrected Andrea and told her I DID NOT WRITE THIS!

Leave a Reply

