a person.

Whenever I struggle with fear, worry, anxiety, panic…….. I fall into a trap of believing I am:
Abnormal
Alone
Isolated
Powerless
Punished

When the truth is, if we were really honest, fear and anxiety is a common trait among human beings as much as the air we breathe. These experiences, or responses to experiences, are very Normal. Now the other descriptors up there are up for grabs, but I offer that they, too, are lies.

All fears and anxieties are saying something. It is sometimes hard to listen to them honestly, because I find they so often are screaming and ranting incessantly. However, if we can give them a chance we will hear them saying that something we want, love, trust or treasure is feeling threatened. Now, it may actually be true, so this is not always a wacked-out feeling! However, quite often, fears and anxieties take things a bit too far.

In the midst of our woes we begin looking for a person. Someone to bring relief, alleviate the problem, fix it. Or someone to blame, take responsibility for it all. But if we could slow this down and really look at it, we would see that we are all really hoping for the Right Person. The only Person who promises us truth. His name is God is with Us!

Exodus 33:16 For how shall it be known that I have found favor in your sight, I and your people? Is it not in your going with us, so that we are distinct, I and your people, from every other people on the face of the earth?”

Psalm 23:4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

Hebrews 13:5 Hebrews 13:5 Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.

He is the only one who brings peace and offers hope. There is nothing I find more comforting, grounding and clarity-inducing.

John 20:19b Jesus came and stood among them and said to them, “Peace be with you.”

Psalm 46, Matthew 8 remind us that he is mighty, able, and willing. He calms the storms both figurative and real. He holds together the very molecules of my being!

It is when I begin to walk in faith during my fears and anxieties that I begin to see the spiritual reality of my life. I begin believing the truth. Fears tell me I am alone. Faith tells me He is with me! I often imagine the chariots of fire surrounding me just as the young man with Elisha saw with his own eyes.

This shift in focus, this slowing down and listening that allows me to see that there is a destination. Hope. God points us to the future and let’s us know he is writing it and it is good. Our heavenly home will be utterly free of this struggle. And in the mean time, I will grab the opportunities fear and anxiety present me with and take part of this Redemption story. My redemption story.

2 thoughts on “a person.

  1. Abnormal
    Alone
    Isolated
    Powerless
    Punished
    Those words are a great description of Jesus Christ. Whenever my children come to me sad because of experiencing any or all of the above, I tell them “Feel it, and feel it deeply.” You are alone, you sometimes are isolated, you are powerless, and you are many times punished. But Jesus was more than that, He knows how each of those feelings felt, completely. I want them to understand that these feelings can powerfully move them to empathy, compassion and love. The enemy however uses them to push us into what I have always called, “The Isolation Booth”. This is where the enemy keeps us from relating these feelings to Christ, he keeps us from going deep with these feelings and moves us into self pity. Our God is the recycler God. He knows how to take these feelings and use them as fuel for building His kingdom. The cross rendered us victimless.

    • Exactly! Perfectly put, Lynne. Just as Hebrews 4:15 says: For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. He knows what it is to feel fear and anxiety…without sinning. Amazing! And so true that staying in touch with it draws empathy and compassion. Detachment is not the answer!

Leave a Reply

