so sew.

{missed 6 days in the challenge. I will blame recovering from a tummy bug, girls’night out, girl’s brunch and a birthday. Hopefully, I will get the ball rolling again!}

I spent the afternoon on Sunday sewing. I worked on a small project that has been rolling around in my mind for a couple years. It all began in the ’80s. Remember those purses we carried with wooden handles and reversible covers. They probably were emblazoned with your initials or a whale. Maybe a frog. They were very preppy, a little impractical, and super awesome. Well, a few years back, we were in Jim Thorpe, PA with my sister’s family. We stumbled into a little vintage shop and I scored such a purse in perfect condition. Except for the initials were wrong. I knew I would make a cover some day. Just didn’t realize it would take so long! Fast forward a couple years to a random purchase of fabric. I love Denys Schmidt’s style, so I purchased a charm pack of her Shelburne Falls collection. It stayed stashed away until Sunday.

I sliced it up into strips and pieced together a little cover for my bag. I decided to make it reversible by lining it with a piece of fabric gifted to me by my nephew in Japan. It still needs buttonholes, so as soon as it is complete, I will share a photo. It was so fun to make and I can’t wait to use it this spring!

Getting in front of my machine gave me the itch to sew more often. I have a lofty dream right now to sew my own wardrobe. To stop buying ready made items. I don’t think it is that outrageous. I am a uniform wearer anyway. I have a definite style that I enjoy. It may not be the most hip, but it is me. My short term goal is to sew up two dresses and a couple t-shirts. I will keep you posted!

3 thoughts on “so sew.

  1. LOL at Dale! I have grandiose plans to be a great seamstress, but I can’t get past threading the bobbin either. 🙂

    Melissa, I can’t wait to see your purse!

Leave a Reply

